Writs issued for four by-elections in Alberta: Calgary-Elbow; Calgary-Foothills; Calgary-West and Edmonton-Whitemud

Alberta Electoral Map - CalgaryAlberta’s Chief Electoral Officer, Glen Resler, confirms that Writs were issued today to administer four (4) by-elections to be held in Calgary-Elbow; Calgary-Foothills; Calgary-West; and Edmonton-Whitemud.

“Returning Officers and Election Clerks have been appointed and trained along with their office teams and are ready to manage and conduct voting in the four (4) electoral divisions identified,” said Resler. Polling Day is on October 27, 2014.

Canadian citizens who have lived in Alberta since April 27, 2014 and are at least 18 years of age or older on Polling Day are eligible to vote if they are resident in one of these four electoral divisions.

To be added to the List of Electors, an elector with a driver’s licence or Alberta ID card, may register on-line using the Voterlink link on our website www.elections.ab.ca until Wednesday, October 15, 2014.

Alberta Electoral Map - EdmontonTo register at an Advance Poll or on Polling Day you must provide authorized identification containing your name and residential address in the electoral division. A list of authorized identification is on our website: click on “Voters” and then click on “ID required to vote”.

Election Timelines:

  • Electors have 28 days to vote by Special Ballot beginning today.
  • Candidate nominations begins Monday, September 29 and end at 2:00 p.m. on Thursday, October 9.
  • Advance Polls run Wednesday October 22 to Saturday October 25 from 9:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m.
  • Assistive voting technology for the disabled is available during the Advance Polls at each of the four (4) returning offices.

For more information about the Provincial By-elections visit www.election.ab.ca , call toll free at 1-877-422-8683 during normal office hours, join us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter.

Elections Alberta is an independent non-partisan office of the Legislative Assembly responsible for administering provincial elections, by-elections, referenda and Senate Nominee elections.