By Winning Final Stage, Impey Wins Six-Day Tour of Alberta

South African Comes From Behind to Win the Overall by One Second

EDMONTON, ALBERTA – South Africa’s Daryl Impey of Orica-GreenEDGE outsprinted top Canadian Ryan Anderson to take a 10-second time bonus that catapulted him past five-day race leader Tom Dumoulin of The Netherlands and Team Giant-Shimano to win the Tour of Alberta, presented by ATB Financial, by a mere one-second after 738 kilometres of racing.

Impey, who was a last-minute substitution on his team for the race and coming off a two month ban that was lifted, entered Sunday’s final stage in Edmonton’s Centre City nine seconds behind Dumoulin, who had led the race since the Prologue in Calgary this past Tuesday. There were time bonuses of 10, 6, and 4 seconds, respectively, for the top three places on the final stage. By winning, Impey gained 10 seconds while Dumoulin failed to place in the top three, thus, giving the South African a win that wasn’t determined until the final metre of the race. Anderson almost spoiled Impey’s victory by outsprinting him and eliminating him from the four crucial seconds he would need to overcome Dumoulin.

“After everything I’ve gone through, this victory is very rewarding,” said Impey, who had a suspect doping charge dropped only four days before arriving in Alberta last week. “My team did an incredible job getting me the best position to sprint for the win.”

For the 23-year-old Dumoulin, it was the third race this year that he lost on the final day.

“I knew I couldn’t sprint with him (Impey) and had to rely on someone defeating him today,” he said. “When I saw his hand lifted in victory, I couldn’t believe it.”

Dumoulin most recently had been winning the Tour of Belgium and Eneco Tour before being overcome on final day of the race.

Anderson was in the same boat as Dumoulin, motivated to win the stage in his hometown of Edmonton while also using the time bonus to move into second place overall. Instead, Impey made a bold move to pass Anderson in the final 50 metres and Anderson was forced to ease his sprint near the line to avoid a crash.

“It seemed like he (Impey) took a hard line and I was pinched to his right against the barrier,” Anderson said. “He obviously had more to gain than I did. It would have been good to get the stage win and I think it might have put me on the podium.”

Sunday’s final stage was contested in cold and rainy conditions through Edmonton’s Centre City. The 124.1-kilometre par course included 11 circuits of 11.3 kilometres in length. The circuit featured a steep climb up Bellamy Hill and a longer, more gradual climb up Victoria Park Rd. The Netherland’s Steven Kruijwick of Belkin-Pro Cycling went clear mid-way through the race and at one point had more than 1 minute, 30-second lead and was the virtual leader on the road. He was reeled in by a group of more than 30 riders, led by Garmin-Sharp, who won the team

The final podium included Impey, Dumoulin at one second behind, and 21-year-old German Ruben Zepuntke of the Bissell Development Team. He said the podium was the biggest result of his career and “a big achievement against World Tour” riders.

The race was the fastest of any major North American race this year, as the peloton averaged 45.6 kilometres per hour (28.77 mph).

“A lot of teams came motivated to win,” said Ramunas Navardauskas. “It was a fast race despite the winds and rain.”

“This was a very good race,” said Impey. “It has become important for us. It’s organized well and well attended by the fans. We look forward to coming back.”

The Subway® Sprint Points jersey winner was Lithuania’s Navardauskas of Garmin-Sharp. The Go Auto King of the Mountain was Great Britain’s Simon Yates of Orica-GreenEDGE. The ATB Financial Best Young Rider was Tom Dumoulin of Team Giant-Shimano. The Pomeroy Hotel & Suites Best Canadian winner was Ryan Anderson of Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies.

The Tour of Alberta, presented by ATB Financial is Canada’s biggest professional cycling stage race and ranked as one of the highest outside of Europe. It is sanctioned by the Union Cyclist Internationale, international governing body for the sport and the Canadian Cycling Association, the national governing body for the sport in Canada.


Province of Alberta Leader’s Jersey
Darryl Impey (RSA), Orica-GreenEDGE

SUBWAY® Sprint Points Jersey
Ramunas Navadauskas (LTU), Garmin-Sharp

Go Auto King of the Mountain Jersey
Simon Yates (GBR), Orica-GreenEDGE

ATB Financial Best Young Rider Jersey
Tom Dumoulin (NED), Team Giant-Shimano

Pomeroy Inn & Suites Best Canadian Jersey
Ryan Anderson (CAN), Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies

Simson Maxwell Power Jersey
Steven Kruijwick (NED) Belkin-Pro Cycling

General Classification (Top 5)

1. Darryl Impey (RSA), Orica-GreenEDGE, 16 hrs, 7 min. and 56 sec.
2. Tom Dumoulin (NED), Giant-Shimano, @ 1 second back
3.Ruben Zepuntke (GER), Bissell Development Team, + :09 sec. behind
4. Ramunas Navadauskas (LIT), Garmin-Sharp, +10 sec.
5. Ryan Anderson (CAN), @ 11 sec.

Stage by Stage Summary

• September 2 / Tuesday / Prologue / Calgary, time trial
Stage Winner: Tom Domoulin (The Netherlands), Team Giant-Shimano
Race Leader: Tom Domoulin (The Netherlands), Team Giant-Shimano
• September 3 / Wednesday / Stage 1 / Lethbridge, circuit race
Stage Winner: Ruben Zepuntke (Germany), Bissell Development Team
Race Leader: Tom Domoulin (The Netherlands), Team Giant-Shimano
• September 4 / Thursday / Stage 2 / Innisfail to Red Deer, road race
Stage Winner: Jonas Alstrand (Sweden), Giant-Shimano
Race Leader: Tom Domoulin (The Netherlands), Team Giant-Shimano
• September 5 / Friday / Stage 3 / Wetaskiwin to Edmonton Garrison, road race
Stage Winner: Sep Vanmarke (Belgium), Belkin Pro-Cycling
Race Leader: Tom Domoulin (The Netherlands), Team Giant-Shimano
• September 6 / Saturday / Stage 4 / Edmonton to Strathcona County, road race
Stage Winner: Theo Bos (The Netherlands), Belkin Pro-Cycling
Race Leader: Tom Domoulin (The Netherlands), Team Giant-Shimano
• September 7 / Sunday / Stage 5 / Edmonton (centre city), circuit race
Stage Winner: Darryl Impey (South Africa), Orica-GreenEDGE
Race Leader: Darryl Impey (South Africa), Orica-GreenEDGE

Complete results at
More information can be found at