Gateway Gazette

Winners Take the Stage in Technology at Montreal International Auto Show

AJAC’s 2016 Canadian Car of the Year Awards

Data Driven by Canadian Expertise

AJAC’s 2016 Best New Technology Awards for Innovation and Safety

MONTREAL, QC, January, 2016 /CNW/ – Two “Best New Technology” award winners were announced (Thursday) by the Automobile Journalists Association of Canada (AJAC) at the Montreal International Auto Show.

General Motors’ Rear Camera Mirror is the winner of the BEST NEW SAFETY TECHNOLOGY.  “General Motors’ Rear Camera Mirror, offered on the 2016 Cadillac CT6, displays an image on the interior rear view mirror that shows about four times larger image than a conventional mirror. The driver can see up to a 60 degree field of vision, reducing blind spots and enhancing the safety of all in the vehicle,” said Jim Kerr, chair of the AJAC tech awards jury.

Toyota’s Tacoma 6-cylinder Atkinson cycle 3.5L engine is the winner of the BEST NEW INNOVATION TECHNOLOGY. Jim Kerr said, “Toyota’s new 3.5-litre V6 combines existing port and direct fuel injection technology with Atkinson cycle engine operation for the first time in production vehicles. This innovation provides 15% better fuel economy and 14% more power than the previous Tacoma V6 for real life consumer benefits.”

Toyota TacomaThe awards are judged by a panel of 11 automotive journalists who are all technology specialists. As a first step, they independently reviewed overview briefs on all the technology entries submitted by automakers.

From that initial review, by secret vote, the jurors established a shortlist of finalists. Then, in late November, they convened in Toronto for a day of presentations by manufacturers’ representatives on each of their shortlisted entries and a chance to grille them with questions.  The jurors then voted a second time, again by secret ballot.

As with the Canadian Car of the Year awards program, those votes were compiled by the accounting firm, KPMG and kept secret until the announcement today.

The “Best New Technology” awards are part of the association’s annual Canadian Car of the Year Awards program, created in 1985 to provide consumers with sound, comparative information on vehicles that are new to the market.

SOURCE Automobile Journalists Association of Canada

Related Articles

Leave a Reply