Wildrose Formally Announces Leadership Candidates

Drew Barnes MLA WildroseEDMONTON, AB – On March 8th, the Wildrose announced the ballot for the Wildrose leadership has been set, with three strong candidates from across Alberta vying for the job.

Drew Barnes, Linda Osinchuk, and Brian Jean each submitted their candidate package, entry fee, and nominating signatures prior to the March 7 deadline to enter the race.

Members will being to vote for their candidate of choice on March 16, with the final day of voting and the announcement of the winner on March 28 at the Sheraton Cavalier in Calgary.

Linda OsinchukThe deadline to buy a membership is March 14.

Wildrose Party President Jeff Callaway said each candidate brings a wealth of political experience and their diverse political backgrounds will make for an exciting leadership race.

“We have a former mayor, a sitting MLA, and a former MP, on the ballot with each hailing from a different corner of the province,” Callaway said.  “The calibre of candidates we have attracted for this race is a good indicator of the strength of the Wildrose.”

Brian Jean - WildroseAll three candidates will be present for the first Wildrose Party leadership debate on Monday, March 9 at the Black Knight Inn in Red Deer. The debate is open to members and the media and will run from 7 – 9PM. It will also be livestreamed on www.wildrose.ca

Wildrose Leader Heather Forsyth said she has seen the party become completely reenergized by the leadership race and encourages all Albertans looking to make an even better Alberta to buy a membership and get involved.

“Let there be no doubt: Our party is strong and it is united. I’ve talked to thousands of our members since taking over the leadership of the party just a few short months ago. They all tell me the same thing, they want a leader who represents the values of the Wildrose and a leader who is ready to take on Jim Prentice and his out of touch PC government,” Forsyth said. “The Wildrose has a bright future ahead and I’m confident that we will continue to find success in our fight to bring accountability and good government to the people of Alberta.”