Unconventional Industry Awards Innovative Thinking

Each year, at the Canadian Society for Unconventional Resources’ Fall Conference, the Sproule Innovation and Achievement Award is presented to an industry representative who has made significant contributions and accomplishments towards advancing the development of unconventional resources in Canada.

Cameron Six, Vice President, Unconventional, for Sproule Associates (sponsor of the Award), is pleased to announce that the 2014 Award Recipient is Dr. Brad Hayes, President of Petrel Robertson Consulting. Dr. Hayes accepted the Award during the CSUR/SPE Conference.

CSUR’s Review Panel stated that “Brad has been extensively involved in the understanding of numerous unconventional resource plays throughout Canada”. Some of Brad’s significant contributions entail work on established, emerging and potential unconventional plays across Canada, including extensive resource characterization work. This encompasses both regional and detailed studies on both liquids rich tight gas reservoirs and shale gas reservoirs. Dr. Hayes has also been involved in source water and aquifer assessment projects pertaining to the Horn River, Montney and Duvernay play areas of British Columbia and Alberta.

Brad received a PhD from the University of Alberta, and a B.Sc. from the University of Toronto. After 15 years of industry experience, he joined PRCL in 1996. Brad is an active member of the CSPG, and served as its President in 2001. He is also a member of AAPG, GAC, APEGA, and APEGBC.

The actual presentation of the Award took place on September 30th during the 16th Annual Unconventional Resources Conference at the BMO Centre in Calgary.