Top Alberta Honour for Eight Leading Citizens


On Wednesday, October 14, the Lieutenant Governor of Alberta will invest the newest members of the Alberta Order of Excellence.

NOTE TO ASSIGNMENT EDITORS – All media are welcome to attend. The 60-minute ceremony begins at 4 p.m. on October 14 at Government House, located at 12845 – 102 Avenue, Edmonton. Media may also arrange for one-on-ones with new members at Government House on the day (3:15 – 3:45 p.m. and again at 5 p.m.).

The Albertans being invested into the Order for 2015 are:

  • David Bissett (Calgary) – Canadian business leader and philanthropist in post-secondary education, wildlife and land preservation and community programs
  • david-bissett-2015Jack Donald (Red Deer) – Respected entrepreneur, elected official and longstanding leader in many Central Alberta community initiatives
  • jack-donald-2015Janice Eisenhauer (Calgary) – Dedicated advocate for strengthened education and human rights for women through Canadian Women for Women in Afghanistan
  • janice-eisenhauer-2015Dennis Erker (Edmonton) – Successful businessman and community leader for a wide range of programs and initiatives, including Edmonton’s Valour Place
  • Dennis-Erker-2015Fil Fraser (Edmonton) – Pioneering  Canadian broadcaster, journalist, writer, film  and television producer, educator and tireless advocate for social justice
  • fil-fraser-2015Stan Grad (Airdrie) – Prominent member of the energy and cattle industries and dedicated philanthropist to many Alberta institutions including SAIT and STARS
  • stan-grad-2015Jacob Masliyah (Edmonton) – Internationally recognized researcher, scholar, mentor and educator in engineering and oil recovery methods
  • jacob-masliyah-2015Frits Pannekoek (Calgary) – Celebrated historian and leader in the development of heritage preservation and open and accessible learning

frits-pannekoek-2015The ceremony was streamed live at on October 14 (watch below). New member biographies and other information are also available on the site.

The Alberta Order of Excellence is the highest honour the province can offer its citizens. Since the Order was created in 1979, 149 Albertans have been invested including this year’s new members.