Results of Alberta PCs First Super Saturday

In Calgary-North West, incumbent Sandra Jansen earned the nomination over Blair Houston, while Richard Gotfried picked up the victory over Myles McDougall in Calgary-Fish Creek. Former MLA Mark Hlady won over J.S. Rioux and Lynn Moen in Calgary-Mountain View.

In Medicine Hat, incumbent Blake Pedersen won over two challengers to carry the PC Alberta banner, while in Spruce Grove-St. Albert, Rus Matichuk won the nomination over Kathleen Range and Neil Korotash.

Craig Copeland earned the nomination over Dixie Dahlstedt in Bonnyville-Cold Lake, while Tammy Cote won over Terry Engan in Rimbey-Rocky Mountain House-Sundre.

As well, we had a number of nominations close this week, and seven more candidates were acclaimed. They are: Moe Amery (Calgary-East), Dave Rodney (Calgary-Lougheed), David Dorward (Edmonton-Gold Bar), Steve Young (Edmonton-Riverview), Jacquie Fenske (Fort Saskatchewan-Vegreville), Greg Weadick (Lethbridge-West) and Richard Starke (Vermilion-Lloydminster).

Our second Super Saturday is scheduled for next weekend, and we’ll see four contested nominations. They are: Calgary-Cross (Dan Singh Sidhu,  Mohamed El-Rafih, Jesse Minhas, Manjit Jaswal , Hardeep S. Rai, Hirde Paul, Bill Kahlon), Calgary-Currie (Dustin Franks and Christine Cusanelli), Innisfail-Sylvan Lake (Kerry Towle and Jim Wood) and Lethbridge-East (Tammy Perlich and Lorne Hickey).

I also want to announce we have opened up three more constituency nominations: Edmonton-Manning (March 21st), Edmonton-Beverley-Clareview (March 28th) and Edmonton-Centre (March 28th).

There are still 10 Ridings that have not set a date or announced candidates yet. They are Calgary-Fort, Calgary-McCall, Calgary-Shaw, Chestermere-Rockyview, Cypress-Medicine Hat, Edmonton-Highlands-Norwood, Edmonton-Mill Creek, Highwood, Lacombe-Ponoka and Strathmore-Brooks.

PC Alberta