PM Announces Committee to Select the New Lieutenant Governor of Alberta

Ottawa, Ontario – Prime Minister Stephen Harper today announced that the five members of the Advisory Committee on Vice-Regal Appointments are now in place to begin the search for appropriate candidates to fill the position of Lieutenant Governor of Alberta. This is in keeping with the non-partisan process to select Lieutenant Governors announced by the Prime Minister in November 2012.

The two temporary members of the Advisory Committee for Alberta, Dr. Ian Holloway and Ingrid Speaker, will join permanent members Kevin MacLeod (Chair), Robert Watt and Dr. Jacques Monet for this process. Ian Holloway is currently the Dean of the Faculty of Law at the University of Calgary, before which he served as Dean of Law at the University of Western Ontario. Dr. Holloway is also a retired Chief Petty Officer in the Royal Canadian Navy.  Ingrid Speaker is a partner in two Alberta companies, was previously Chancellor of the University of Lethbridge and has volunteered her time and experience for numerous Alberta charities. Both individuals have served Canada through their work and volunteer efforts and bring a strong knowledge of the province and their respective fields of interest to the process.

The Advisory Committee will consult with key stakeholders on prospective candidates and provide advice to the Prime Minister on the progress of committee deliberations. As a final step, the Advisory Committee will present a report to the Prime Minister with a shortlist of proposed candidates for consideration.

Quick Facts

  • In November 2012, Prime Minister Harper announced the creation of a new permanent Advisory Committee on Vice-Regal Appointments.
  • The non-partisan Advisory Committee is responsible for providing the Prime Minister with non-binding recommendations on the selection of the Governor General, Lieutenant Governors and Territorial Commissioners.
  • In addition to the Chair and the two permanent members, the Advisory Committee will include two temporary members who will be chosen from the jurisdiction of appointment in the case of Lieutenant Governor and Territorial Commissioner vacancies.


“I am delighted to welcome Ingrid Speaker and Dr. Ian Holloway as temporary members of the Advisory Committee on Vice-Regal Appointments.  Their knowledge of Alberta and experience in a broad range of relevant fields will certainly contribute to the Committee putting forward strong, suitable candidates for the position of Lieutenant Governor of Alberta.” – Prime Minister Stephen Harper