PC’s Prepare for Super Saturday


February 21st is being dubbed Super Saturday by the Alberta PC Party. Their members will get to vote on the next slate of candidates to represent the party in the upcoming election.

There are eight contested nominations across the province.

In Calgary-Mountain View, J.S. Rioux, Mark Hlady and Lynn Moen are on the ballot. In Calgary-North West, it’s Sandra Jansen and Blair Houston. Richard Gotfried and Myles McDougall are facing off in Calgary-Fish Creek.

In Edmonton-Ellerslie, Balraj Manhas is challenging incumbent Naresh Bharwaj.

In Northern Alberta in Bonnyville-Cold Lake, it’s Craig Copeland versus Dixie Dahlstedt. Neil Korotash, Rus Matichuk and Kathleen Range are the candidates in Spruce Grove-St. Albert.

In Southern Alberta, incumbent Blake Pedersen, Medicine Hat, will face competition from John Hamill and Jeff Lanigan.

Finally, in Rimbey-Rocky Mountain House-Sundre, it’s Tammy Cote versus Terry Engen.

Current MLA’s who have been acclaimed: Peter Brown (Airdrie), Maureen Kubinec (Barrhead-Morinville-Westlock), Jonathan Denis (Calgary-Acadia), Gordon Dirks (Calgary-Elbow), Linda Johnson (Calgary-Glenmore), Teresa Woo-Paw (Calgary-Northern Hills), Rick Fraser (Calgary-South East), Heather Klimchuk (Edmonton-Glenora), Everett McDonald (Grande Prairie-Smoky), George Rogers (Leduc-Beaumont), Stephen Khan (St. Albert), Dave Quest (Strathcona-Sherwood Park), Robin Campbell (West Yellowhead), Verlyn Olson (Wetaskiwin-Camrose) and George VanderBurg (Whitecourt-Ste. Anne).

For the following week of February 28th, there will also be a few contested nominations. They are as follows: Calgary-Cross (Dan Singh Sidhu, Mohamed El-Rafih, Jesse Minhas, Manjit Jaswal, Hardeep S. Raj, Hirde Paul Singh), Calgary-Currie (Dustin Franks and Christine Cusanelli), Innisfail-Sylvan Lake (Kerry Towle and Jim Wood) and Lethbridge-East (Tammy Perlich and Lorne Hickey).