Municipal District of Foothills No. 31 to Become Foothills County

Municipal District of Foothills No. 31 to Become Foothills County

Foothills County – a great place to live, play and work.

The name Municipal District of Foothills No. 31 is changing to Foothills County. Council passed a resolution to submit an application to the Province to change the name on February 7, 2018.

“The title of county is recognized national and internationally. Foothills County is a name that is distinguishes what the municipality represents,” said Reeve Spilak. “The name is easy to find, remember and say. This is a benefit to the municipality as we continue to encourage industrial and commercial growth – provincially, nationally and worldwide.”

Renaming to Foothills County brings the municipality into alignment with the majority of other rural municipalities in Alberta that are recognized as counties. It does not affect existing policies and agreements.

Costs associated with changing the name will be minimal. The name within the logo is what is changing; the logo and brand remain the same. Existing gateway signage on the main highways is old and plans to replace the signage are in place, making this an opportune time. Other costs such as stationery and print material will be incurred only when existing materials are used up and reprinting is required. Decals identifying municipal vehicles will be replaced on a needs basis. 

Foothills County encompasses a diverse rural landscape in which leadership and planning support a strong agricultural heritage, vibrant communities, a balanced economy and the stewardship of natural capital for future generations.