Honouring Community Safety Leaders and Innovators

Albertans are encouraged to nominate groups or individuals who have improved safety in their communities for the 28th annual Alberta Community Justice Awards.

The awards recognize individuals, organizations, businesses and groups who have made exceptional contributions to community safety, crime prevention and the criminal justice system.

“Preventing crime and keeping our neighbourhoods safe is a community effort. Every year, these awards recognize Albertans who have made notable contributions to safety within their communities. I encourage everyone to recognize these inspiring activities with a nomination.”

~Kathleen Ganley, Minister of Justice and Solicitor General

Nominations for the Alberta Community Justice Awards are submitted by members of the public. The awards are presented in five categories: leadership; innovation; service enhancement; community mobilization; and partnerships and collaboration.

Eligible nominees include Albertans who work in crime prevention organizations, youth justice committees, victim services and restorative justice programs.

To nominate a community leader or organization, submit a nomination by March 22, 2019.

The Alberta Community Justice Awards ceremony will take place in Edmonton on June 27, 2019.