Heritage Awards Honours Efforts to Preserve Alberta History

From Grande Prairie to Lethbridge, efforts to preserve and share Alberta’s history are being recognized with the presentation of the Alberta Historical Resources Foundation Heritage Awards.

“The efforts of the outstanding recipients of the 2016 Heritage Awards demonstrate that heritage preservation is a community effort. It is through their contributions and the dedicated efforts of Albertans across the province that our history remains vibrantly alive today and for the generations to come.”

Ricardo Miranda, Minister of Culture and Tourism


heritage-awards-honoursHonoured during the awards ceremony at the historic McDougall Centre in Calgary were:

Dr Howard Fredeen

Outstanding Achievement

  • Dr. Don Hepburn (Red Deer)
  • Dr. Howard Fredeen (Lacombe)
  • Jean Johnstone (Lethbridge)
  • Nancy Miller (Calgary)
  • Honourable mention – Elizabeth and Bill Bullick (Coronation)

Heritage Conservation

  • Glen Leslie Church Preservation Group (County of Grande Prairie), Glen Leslie Church restoration
  • Empress and District Historical Society (Empress), Canadian Pacific Railway Station restoration
Joanne Monner of the Milo Library
Joanne Monner of the Milo Library

Heritage Awareness

  • Crowsnest Heritage Initiative, “Discover Crowsnest Heritage” signage program
  • Haying in the 30’s Cancer Support Society, “Haying in the 30’s” event
  • Honourable mention – Bear Lake Canuck Historical Society, “Canuck Classic: The Story of a Treasured One-Room School”
  • Honourable mention – Milo Library Archives, “Milo Library Archives On-Line Access Project”
Chris Matthews of the Crowsnest Heritage Intiative
Chris Matthews of the Crowsnest Heritage Intiative

Municipal Heritage Preservation

  • Municipal District of Bighorn No. 8
  • Yellowhead County
  • Honourable mention – Town of Raymond


Additional information on each of the 2016 award recipients is available on the Alberta Historical Resources Foundation Heritage Awards webpage.

The biennial awards honour the contributions of individuals, organizations, businesses and municipalities actively engaged in heritage preservation and conservation in the categories of Outstanding Achievement, Heritage Conservation, Heritage Awareness, and Municipal Heritage Preservation.

The AHRF Heritage Awards Program is an integral part of the Government of Alberta’s commitment to supporting heritage preservation efforts in communities throughout Alberta. A total of 58 awards have been presented to recipients from across the province since the program was reintroduced in 2005.

The foundation assists Alberta Culture and Tourism in promoting public awareness and enjoyment of Alberta’s heritage and is the Government of Alberta’s primary window for heritage preservation funding.