Governor General Announces 86 New Appointments to the Order of Canada

Astronaut Chris Hadfield and CBC personality Rick Mercer are among recent recipients.

OTTAWA—His Excellency the Right Honourable David Johnston, Governor General of Canada, announced today 86 new appointments to the Order of Canada. The new appointees include 3 Companions (C.C.), 19 Officers (O.C.) and 64 Members (C.M.). These appointments were made on the recommendation of the Advisory Council for the Order of Canada.

Recipients will be invited to accept their insignia at a ceremony to be held at a later date.

The Order of Canada, one of our country’s highest civilian honours, was established in 1967, during Canada’s centennial year, to recognize outstanding achievement, dedication to the community and service to the nation. Over the last 45 years, more than 6 000 people from all sectors of society have been invested into the Order.

The list of recipients, with short citations, and a backgrounder on the Order of Canada are attached. For more information on the Canadian Honours System, please consult our website at

For backgrounds on the recipients click here.


  • David Cronenberg, C.C., O.Ont.
  • Richard Leigh Cruess, C.C., O.Q.
  • General A. John G. D. de Chastelain, C.C., C.M.M., C.D., C.H. (Ret’d)


  • Marion Bogo, O.C. – Toronto, Ont.
  • Philip Branton, O.C. – Saint-Lambert, Que.
  • James Carter, O.C. – Spruce Grove, Alta.
  • G. Raymond Chang, O.C. – Toronto, Ont.
  • Harvey Max Chochinov, O.C., O.M. – Winnipeg, Man.
  • Deborah Cook, O.C. – Dundas, Ont.
  • Judson Graham Day, O.C., O.N.S., C.D., Q.C. – Hantsport, N.S.
  • Jean-Marie De Koninck, O.C., C.Q. – Lac-Beauport, Que.
  • David F. Denison, O.C.  – Toronto, Ont.
  • Gerald Finley, O.C. – Mark Cross, Crowborough, U.K. and Montréal, Que.
  • Susan French, O.C. – Halifax, N.S.
  • David Goldbloom, O.C. – Toronto, Ont.
  • Frederick William Gorbet, O.C. – Toronto, Ont.
  • Colonel Chris Austin Hadfield, O.C., O.Ont., M.S.C., C.D. (Ret’d) – Sarnia, Ont.
  • Harold John Jennings, O.C. – Ottawa, Ont.
  • Norman B. Keevil, O.C., O.B.C. – West Vancouver, B.C.
  • Richard Vincent Mercer, O.C. – Toronto, Ont.
  • Veena Rawat, O.C. – Ottawa, Ont.
  • Shirley Marie Tilghman, O.C. – Toronto, Ont. and Princeton, NJ, U.S.A.


  • Mary Elyse Allan, C.M. – Toronto, Ont.
  • Kim Baird, C.M. – Tsawwassen, B.C.
  • The Honourable Gordon L. Barnhart, C.M., S.O.M. – Saskatoon, Sask.
  • James. W. Borcoman, C.M. – Ottawa, Ont.
  • Pierre G. Boutet, C.M., C.M.M., C.D. – Lévis, Que.
  • Marcia Ann Boyd, C.M. – Vancouver, B.C.
  • Guy Breton, C.M. – Montréal, Que.
  • Vickie Cammack, C.M., M.S.M. – Surrey, B.C.
  • Norman Campbell, C.M. – Calgary, Alta.
  • Timothy Casgrain, C.M. – Toronto, Ont.
  • Jean Chamberlain Froese, C.M. – Hamilton, Ont.
  • Earlaine Collins, C.M. – Toronto, Ont.
  • Eleanor Collins, C.M. – Surrey, B.C.
  • Victor Davies, C.M. – Toronto, Ont.
  • Denise Desautels, C.M. – Montréal, Que.
  • François Dompierre, C.M. – Sutton, Que.
  • Terrence Donnelly, C.M., O.Ont. – Toronto, Ont.
  • Anthony Doob, C.M. – Toronto, Ont.
  • David K. Elton, C.M. – Calgary, Alta.
  • Allan B. Etmanski, C.M., M.S.M. – Surrey, B.C.
  • Lucinda Flemer, C.M. – Toronto, Ont. and Saint Andrews, N.B.
  • Cyril Basil Frank, C.M. – Calgary, Alta.
  • Irene Fraser, C.M. – Millet, Alta.
  • Ross Gaudreault, C.M., O.Q. – Québec, Que.
  • Christiane Germain, C.M., C.Q. – Montréal, Que.
  • Jean Giguère, C.M. – Winnipeg, Man.
  • Karen Goldenberg, C.M. – Toronto, Ont.
  • Dorothy Grant, C.M. – Delta, B.C.
  • Jocelyn Greene, C.M. – St. John’s, N.L.
  • H. Wayne Hambly, C.M. – Charlottetown, P.E.I.
  • Antony Holland, C.M. – Gabriola Island, B.C.
  • The Honourable James Knatchbull Hugessen, C.M. – Almonte, Ont.
  • James D. Irving, C.M. – Saint John, N.B.
  • Ronald L. Jamieson, C.M., O.Ont. – Ohsweken, Ont.
  • Guy Gavriel Kay, C.M. – Toronto, Ont.
  • Ricardo Larrivée, C.M. – Chambly, Que.
  • James William Leech, C.M. – Toronto, Ont.
  • Jack Long, C.M. – Toronto, Ont.
  • James Low, C.M. – Kingston, Ont.
  • The Honourable Edward Lumley, P.C., C.M. – Lancaster, Ont.
  • Ramona Lumpkin, C.M. – Halifax, N.S.
  • Joseph B. Marshall, C.M., O.N.S. – Eskasoni, N.S.
  • Carol Martin, C.M. – Thomasburg, Ont.
  • Allison McCain, C.M. – Florenceville, N.B.
  • Frank L. McKinnon, C.M. – Calgary, Alta. and Carman, Man.
  • Malcolm Bruce McNiven, C.M. – Montréal, Que.
  • James Armstrong Munro, C.M. – Victoria, B.C.
  • Mona Nemer, C.M., C.Q. – Ottawa, Ont.
  • Kimberly Pate, C.M. – Ottawa, Ont.
  • Alexander Peter Pauk, C.M. – Toronto, Ont.
  • Michel Phaneuf, C.M. – Mont-Royal, Que.
  • Kari Polanyi Levitt, C.M. – Outremont, Que.
  • Shana Poplack, C.M. – Ottawa, Ont.
  • Marcia Hampton Rioux, C.M. – Toronto, Ont.
  • Denise Robert, C.M. – Montréal, Que.
  • Ronald Rosenes, C.M. – Toronto, Ont.
  • Roy Shephard, C.M. – Brackendale, B.C.
  • Karl Siegler, C.M. – Powell River, B.C.
  • René Simard, C.M. – Lorraine, Que.
  • Donna Eileen Stewart, C.M. – Toronto, Ont.
  • Constance Sugiyama, C.M. – Toronto, Ont.
  • Alan Robert Twigg, C.M. – Vancouver, B.C.
  • Fawn Wilson White, C.M. – Rome, Italy and Saint John, N.B.
  • Norman Willis, C.M. – Ottawa, Ont.