Gateway Gazette

Flu Vaccine Clinics Prepare to Open

What is influenza (flu)?

Influenza (flu) is a viral infection. People often use the term “flu” to describe any kind of mild illness, such as a cold or a stomach virus, that has symptoms like the flu. But the real flu is different. Flu symptoms are usually worse than a cold and last longer. The flu usually does not cause vomiting or diarrhea in adults.

Most flu outbreaks happen in late fall and winter.

What causes the flu?
The flu is caused by influenza viruses A and B. There are different strains of the flu virus every year.

What are the symptoms?

The flu causes a fever, body aches, a headache, a dry cough, and a sore or dry throat. You will probably feel tired and less hungry than usual. The symptoms usually are the worst for the first 3 or 4 days. But it can take 1 to 2 weeks to get completely better.

It usually takes 1 to 4 days to get symptoms of the flu after you have been around someone who has the virus.

Most people get better without problems. But sometimes the flu can lead to a bacterial infection, such as an ear infection, a sinus infection, or bronchitis. In rare cases, the flu may cause a more serious problem, such as pneumonia.

Certain people are at higher risk of problems from the flu. They include young children, pregnant women, older adults, and people with long-term illnesses or with impaired immune systems that make it hard to fight infection.

Drop-In Flu Vaccine Clinics

Oilfields Hospital (Government Road, Black Diamond)

Tue, Oct 21, 2014: 9:00 AM – 3:00 PM

Wed, Oct 29, 2014: 12:00 PM – 7:00 PM

Wed, Nov 05, 2014: 12:00 PM – 7:00 PM

Fri, Nov 14, 2014: 9:00 AM – 3:00 PM

Wed, Nov 26, 2014: 12:00 PM – 7:00 PM

Wed, Dec 10, 2014: 12:00 PM – 7:00 PM

Fri, Jan 16, 2015: 9:00 AM – 3:00 PM

Okotoks Health and Wellness Centre (204 Community Way)

Wed, Oct 22, 2014: 9:00 AM – 3:00 PM

Thu, Oct 23, 2014: 9:00 AM – 3:00 PM

Mon, Oct 27, 2014: 12:00 PM – 7:00 PM

Tue, Oct 28, 2014: 12:00 PM – 7:00 PM

Mon, Nov 03, 2014: 12:00 PM – 7:00 PM

Tue, Nov 04, 2014: 12:00 PM – 7:00 PM

Wed, Nov 19, 2014: 12:00 PM – 7:00 PM

Nov 20, 2014: 12:00 PM – 7:00 PM

Dec 04, 2014: 12:00 PM – 7:00 PM

Dec 05, 2014: 9:00 AM – 3:00 PM

Jan 13, 2015: 12:00 PM – 7:00

Highwood Memorial Centre (128 – 5th Avenue W, High River)

Oct 20, 2014: 9:00 AM – 3:00 PM

Oct 21, 2014: 12:00 PM – 7:00 PM

Oct 29, 2014: 9:00 AM – 3:00 PM

Oct 30, 2014: 12:00 PM – 7:00 PM

Nov 12, 2014: 9:00 AM – 3:00 PM

Nov 13, 2014: 12:00 PM – 7:00 PM

Nov 26, 2014: 12:00 PM – 7:00 PM

Dec 10, 2014: 12:00 PM – 7:00 PM

Jan 21, 2015: 12:00 PM – 7:00 PM

 

Related Articles

Leave a Reply