Economic Developers Alberta (EDA) Recognizes Excellence in Economic Development in Alberta


(Kananaskis, AB): Tonight Economic Developers Alberta (EDA) presented its annual Awards of Excellence during its 2015 Annual Conference at the Delta Kananaskis Lodge. These awards honour Alberta communities and individuals for excellence in: Business and Investment Attraction (BIA); Business Retention and Expansion (BRE); and Community Economic Development (CED).

  • The Economic Developer of the Year Award was presented to Gerry Gabinet (Strathcona County).
  • The Outstanding Young Professional Award was presented to Michael Lam (Edmonton Economic Development Corporation).

The EDA Awards of Excellence were presented to:

Business Retention and Expansion (BRE):

  • Small community/region (population up to 25,000) – “Whitecourt Business Support Network” (Woodlands County & Town of Whitecourt)
  • Medium community/region (population from 25,001–100,000) -“Lethbridge@Work” (Economic Development Lethbridge)
  • Large community/region (population 100,001+) – “Northeast Alberta Regional Labour Attraction Initiative” (Alberta HUB)

Business and Investment Attraction (BIA):

  • Small community/region (population up to 25,000) – “Middle of Everywhere” (County of Grande Prairie)
  •  Medium community/region (population from 25,001–100,000) – “Bringing Investment Home” (SouthWest Invest)
  •  Large community/region (population 100,001+) – “Regional Data Mapping Project” (East Alberta Trade Corridor)

Community Economic Development (CED):

  • Small community/region (population up to 25,000) – “Newell Network” (Newell Regional Economic Development Initiative)
  • Medium community/region (population from 25,001–100,000) – “SMARTstart” (Airdrie Business Resource Partnership)
  • Large community/region (population 100,001+) – “BOLT Regional Transit” (Town of Blackfalds, City of Red Deer, City of Lacombe)

The Alex Metcalfe Award recognizes the “best of the best” project in each of the BIA, BRE and CED categories. These awards honour three nominees for their superior work in economic development in Alberta over the past year and are judged from among the three Group winners of each Category at the Awards of Excellence level.

This year, the Alex Metcalfe Awards went to:

  • Business Retention and Expansion – “Whitecourt Business Support Network” (Woodlands County & Town of Whitecourt)
  • Business and Investment Attraction – “Bringing Investment Home” (SouthWest Invest)
  • Community Economic Development – “SMARTstart” (Airdrie Business Resource Partnership)

Finally, the President’s Award recognizes an individual in the Association that has made a significant contribution to the organization. This year’s Award was presented to Matt Cornall, Alberta Innovates – Technology Futures.


Economic Developers Alberta (EDA) is Alberta’s economic development network dedicated to advancing the economic development profession in the province of Alberta by providing an active network of communications, information and education. It is a not-for-profit organization governed by a volunteer board of directors, who represent the interests of its membership as a whole.  @edaalberta (2015 Conference hashtag #EDA2015)