The City Honoured Recipients at the 2015 Calgary Awards

The City of Calgary presented the 2015 Calgary Awards to recipients on Sept. 28, 2016 in the Calgary Municipal Building Atrium.

The Calgary Awards is The City’s citizen recognition program celebrating Calgarians and local organizations for their outstanding achievements and significant contributions to improve the quality of life in Calgary. Mayor Nenshi and members of City Council recognized the recipients at the ceremony.

Harry Sanders
Harry Sanders

The 2015 Calgary Awards recipients are:

Patricia McLeod
Patricia McLeod

The Community Achievement Awards – Recognizes outstanding contributions and achievements in community life.

Citizen of the Year – David Pickersgill
Grant MacEwan Lifetime Achievement – Edward J. (Ted) Valentine
Arts – Linda Kundert-Stoll
Commerce – Bleeding Art Industries Inc.
Community Advocate – Patricia McLeod
Community Advocate Organization – Calgary Catholic Immigration Society (CCIS)
Education – David Werklund
Heritage – Harry Sanders
Youth – Andrew Min

Bleeding Art Industry
Bleeding Art Industry

The Environmental Achievement Awards – Recognizes environmental achievements in advanced technology, conservation, protection, enhancement, education, stewardship and promotion that serves to reduce our impact on and/or restore the city’s natural environment.

Corporate – Hyatt Regency Calgary
Educational Institution – University of Calgary, Environmental Law Clinic
Not-for-Profit – Centre for Affordable Water, Sanitation & Technology (CAWST)

The Signature Award – Recognizes an exceptional individual whose personal and/or professional activities have gained international acclaim or brought significant recognition to Calgary.

Richard F. (Dick) Haskayne

Richard F. (Dick) Haskayne
Richard F. (Dick) Haskayne

The City of Calgary W.O. Mitchell Book Prize – Recognizes literary achievement by a Calgary author.

“The Piano Teacher” by Eugene Stickland, B House Publications

The Award for Accessibility – Recognizes buildings or facilities that exceed minimum requirements for accessibility for persons with disabilities.

Mount Royal University – Taylor Centre for the Performing Arts

The Calgary Awards were established in 1994 by The City of Calgary to celebrate and recognize outstanding achievements and contributions made by Calgarians. Each year, individuals, corporations, community groups, schools and organizations are nominated in five major award categories. The City of Calgary encourages all Calgarians to look to their neighbours, colleagues, community leaders and local organizations and businesses for those who could qualify as recipients of the Calgary Awards. For more information visit The City website