Last week, 28 citizens, seven firefighters and nine police constables were honoured for their acts of bravery and displays of kindness to others during an emergency situation. Fire Chief Steve Dongworth awarded the recipients with medals, certificates and warm words of thanks for making a difference in someone’s life.

Among the award recipients was Calgary Police Constable Jason Schneider, who pulled a driver out of a burning car that crashed into a house, and students Kirsty Chau and Payton Leach, for helping a man in medical distress outside their high school.

“I am so proud of everyone here today,” said Fire Chief Dongworth. “It’s not just that these citizens were in the right place at the right time—it’s that they had the presence of mind to act bravely and quickly, to save someone’s life or to keep their fellow citizens from harm.”

Other honorees included Brian Gloer, who helped prevent serious damage to two homes with the assistance of a garden hose, and firefighter Zamir Montoya who collected more than 50 sets of previously-worn firefighting equipment, helmets and boots from local fire departments, repaired them and sent them to a fire department in Nicaragua.

Every year, the Calgary Fire Department honours citizens and emergency responders for helping others beyond expectation in emergencies attended by the Fire Department. Nominations are considered for recognition in one of three levels: appreciation, recognition or commendation.

Members of the public can nominate citizens and emergency responders for recognition by contacting 311. For more information visit

Calgary Fire Department Recognition – 2015 Recipients

Appreciation – Recognizes individuals for providing basic first aid or an act of kindness to a victim at an emergency attended by the Calgary Fire Department.

  • Bill Peters
  • Mason Germain, Jeff Evans and Jeff Hurd
  • Drew Lescisin and Trent Wiebe
  • Todd Ford
  • Kirsty Chau and Payton Leach
  • Fire Captain Bob Burrell

Recognition – Acknowledges individuals for their significant effort to help at an emergency attended by the Calgary Fire Department where people or property, were in danger.

  • Firefighter Zamir Montoya
  • Brian Gloer
  • Tom McMahon
  • Shane Abel
  • Firefighters Ryan Saurette and Steve Hughes
  • Firefighter Chris Muzechka
  • Constable Steve Howard
  • Senior firefighter Shane Bohnet and Travis Bohnet
  • Fire Captain Shane Boisjoli
  • Constables Greg Burnett, Renee Moore, Dan Rogers and Marty Woodrow
  • Chris Sparks
  • Esmat Ahmed
  • Heather Burlet and Micheal-Ann Ellard
  • James Savage
  • Constables Ernie Corbin, Brad Kirkwood and Brent Malley

Commendation/Medal of Bravery – Recognizes individuals for proactively intervening at an emergency attended by the Calgary Fire Department and risking personal injury to save another individual.

  • Constable Jason Schneider
  • Cole Peoples
  • Patrick Forget, James Milner and Nathan Taekema
  • Shawn Cathers
  • Alexander Cayetano, Graham Haugrud, Andrew McLennan and Harold Warner
  • Duffy Pruyn