Alberta’s Environmental Innovators Recognized at Emerald Awards Celebration


EDMONTON, Alberta – On June 4, 2015, environmental leaders from across the province gathered at Edmonton’s Citadel Theatre for the announcement of the 24th Annual Emerald Awards. Presented by the Alberta Emerald Foundation, the uniquely-Albertan award showcases environmental excellence in nine cross-sectoral categories.

Earlier this year, the Alberta Emerald Foundation received many nominations for the prestigious Emerald Awards. A panel of knowledgeable third-party judges was tasked with reviewing all nominations and selecting three finalists and one recipient per category.

Junior Achievement of Northern Alberta & NWT accepted The Ron Kruhlak Youth Award
Junior Achievement of Northern Alberta & NWT accepted The Ron Kruhlak Youth Award

“We are the only foundation in the country to recognize the important work of environmental leaders across all sectors,” says Alan Ross, Chair of the Board, Alberta Emerald Foundation. “By honouring and elevating the ingenuity, dedication and hard work of these individuals and organizations, we inspire others to follow their example, benefiting all Albertans with a healthier and cleaner environment.”

“The Emerald Awards shine a spotlight on an area that many people may not be aware of,” says Grant Pearsell, recipient of the Government Institution Award for the City of Edmonton. “The Emerald Awards help others by giving a frame of reference for excellent environmental works that they wouldn’t otherwise have.”

Hosted by local theatre artists Jana O’Connor and Chris Bullough, the 24th Annual Emerald Awards celebration featured special performances by Strathcona County High School Choir, award-winning Toy Guns Dance Theatre and Nuella Charles, and an original poem by Poet Laureate Mary Pinkoski. Providing greetings from the City of Edmonton and Province of Alberta were City Councillor Michael Walters and Deputy Minister Bill Werry and Sherwood Park – Strathcona MLA Estefania Cortes-Vargas respectively.

The Alberta Emerald Foundation celebrates and showcases environmental leadership in Alberta. Since 1992, the Foundation has recognized over 250 recipients and 450 finalists through the Emerald Awards program. In addition to the Emerald Awards, the Alberta Emerald Foundation has developed a number of outreach initiatives, includingEmerald Days and the Youth Environmental Engagement Grants program. For more information about the AlbertaEmerald Foundation, please visit

24th Annual Emerald Awards Recipients

Category: Community Group or Not-for-Profit Association (presented by Syncrude Canada Ltd)
Recipient: Camrose Wildlife and Stewardship Society for Camrose Wildlife and Greenspace Stewardship Project

Category: Large Business (presented by Enbridge)
Recipient: Syncrude Canada Ltd for Sandhill Fen Watershed Research Initiative

Category: Small Business (presented by ConocoPhillips Canada)
Recipient: Verge Permaculture

Category: Education (presented by Alberta Beverage Container Recycling Corp.)
Recipient: Captain Nichola Goddard School for Green Commuting Hubs

Category: Public Education & Outreach (presented by Shell Canada)
Recipient: ConocoPhillips Canada for Quest/Destination Conservation Program

Category: Government Institution (presented by ATCO Gas & ATCO Electric)
Recipient: City of Edmonton for Designing for Wildlife Passage in and Increasingly Fragmented World

Category: Ron Kruhlak Award (presented by McLennan Ross LLP)
Recipient: Junior Achievement of Northern Alberta & NWT

Emerald Challenge: Water (presented by Encana)
Recipients (tie): Nature Alberta for Living by Water and Trout Unlimited Canada for Yellow Fish Road

Category: Individual Commitment (presented by Alberta Real Estate Foundation)
Recipient: Dr. Bonnie Shapiro

For a complete list of Emerald Awards recipient, finalists and project descriptions, please visit