Alberta PC: Nomination Updates

This weekend marked our third Super Saturday, and we are now less than 30 nominations from a full PC Alberta team for the next general election.

Four constituencies voted in their new nominees while nominations were closed in a handful of other constituencies.

Before we move onto the results, I want to thank of our volunteers who devoted time on a campaign or helped run the polling stations.

In Calgary-Bow, Byron Nelson won over Chris Harper, while incumbent Neil Brown won over Richard Poon, Gary Millan and Ako Ufodike in Calgary-Mackay-Nose Hill.

Chris LaBossiere won over Grant Mann in Edmonton-Rutherford, and incumbent Mike Allen won over Tracy McKinnon in Fort McMurray-Wood Buffalo.

As for acclamations, incumbents Janice Sarich (Edmonton-Decore) and Pearl Calahasen (Lesser Slave Lake) will be the candidates once again in their constituencies.

Our next Super Saturday scheduled for next weekend will feature seven contested nominations. They are as follows: Stony Plain (Lorna Wolodko, Ken Lemke), Olds-Didsbury-Three Hills (Wade Bearchell, Ron Richardson, Debra Bennett), Dunvegan-Central Peace-Notley (Gordon Andreiuk, Rhonda Clarke-Gauthier, Nigel McCarthy, Albert Cooper), Edmonton-Meadowlark (Tom Choucair, Katherine O’Neill, Steve Benson), Sherwood Park (Sue Timanson, Cathy Olesen), Lac La Biche-St. Paul-Two Hills (Darrell Younghans, Brian Storseth, Glenn Anderson, Jeff Duchaine) and Spruce Grove-St. Albert (Neil Korotash, Rus Matichuk, Kathleen Range).

The nomination in Drumheller-Stettler also closed with three candidates: Jack Hayden, Ed Mah and Greggory Jackson. Their vote will take place on March 21st.

Finally, I’d like to announce our nomination committee has opened up four more candidate nominations: Calgary-Fort (April 11th), Cypress-Medicine Hat (March 28th), Edmonton-Highlands-Norwood (April 11th) and Edmonton-Mill Creek (March 28th).