Alberta PC: More Nominations to Announce

Simply described, this was our biggest and best Super Saturday yet.

We had seven nominations races across the province occur, with massive numbers of members voting to select the next candidate for their constituency. As an example in Lac La Biche-St. Paul-Two Hills, we had over 1,800 people cast their ballot. It went well into the evening and on into the next day to count all the votes! When we finally announced the winner at 2 a.m., the hall next door was still jam-packed full of our supporters…that’s commitment!

This is what the PC Party is capable of, and I’m honoured by all the volunteers who gave their time to either help on campaigns, run polling stations or count ballots.

Now onto the results!

In Lac La Biche-St. Paul-Two Hills, Darrell Younghans won over Brian Storeseth, Glenn Anderson and Jeff Duchaine.

In Sherwood Park, incumbent Cathy Olesen won over Sue Timanson, while anotherincumbent, Ken Lemke won over Lorna Wolodko in Stony Plain

Rus Matichuk is the candidate over Kathleen Range and Neil Korotash in Spruce Grove-St. Alberta, and Katherine O’Neill won over Steve Benson in Edmonton-Meadowlark.

Wade Bearchell is our candidate in Olds-Didsbury-Three Hills after victory over Ron Richardson and Debra Bennett.

Rhonda Clarke-Gauthier won over Gordon Andreiuk, Nigel McCarthy and Albert Cooper in Dunvegan-Central Peace-Notley.

We also have a three acclamations to announce: Darcy Mykytyshyn (Red Deer-South), Molly Douglass (Strathmore-Brooks) and Shelley Wegner (Edmonton-Strathcona).

We are nearing our end of Super Saturday’s with only three more remaining. Next weekend will feature five contested nominations: Drumheller-Stettler (Greggory Jackson, Ed Mah, Jack Hayden), Red Deer-North (Christine Moore, Jeffrey Dawson, Buck Buchanan), Edmonton-Manning (Gurcharan Garcha, Manpreet Gill,Peter Sandhu), Calgary-Shaw (Jeff Wilson, Ted Sutton, Mark Dyrholm, Kent Ladell, Trudy Hauser) and Battle River-Wainwright (Todd Pawsey, Eugene Hrabec, Blake Prior, Vikram Bagga, Grant West, Sheldon Archibald).

We will also host our first Sunday vote on March 22nd with the contested nomination in Edmonton-McClung (Colin Michaelchuk, Amanda Nielsen, David Xiao).

Lastly, our Leader Jim Prentice showed off his recruiting capabilities and brought in former Calgary Chief of Police Rick Hanson as our official candidate in Calgary-Cross

By my count, we now have 69 out of 87 candidates in place. We are almost there!