2015 Aboriginal Education Incentive Awards Recipients Announced

2015 Aboriginal Education Incentive Awards Recipients Announced


More than 200 individuals over the last decade recognized for their efforts to continue their education

Ottawa (ON) – Canada Post is proud to announce the winners of the 2015 Aboriginal Education Incentive Awards. The awards recognize the efforts and commitment of Canadians of Aboriginal heritage who have chosen to continue school following an absence from formal education. Since inception in 2004, the Awards have recognized more than 200 individuals from across the country.

This year’s award recipients are:

  • British Columbia: Chantal Wiberg, Cheyenne Cunningham, Desiree Bagnall, Melissa Hoffart, Norma Nahanee, Patricia Dawson Hunt, Rachel Silva, Ryan Danroth, Samantha Barrowcliff
  • Alberta: Shoneen Edwards and Starly Brave Rock
  • Saskatchewan: Chantal Clarke
  • Manitoba: Andrew George, Brooke Twoheart, Carrie Waddell, Chrysta Wood, Lisa Thomas, Marion Ross, Trina Everall
  • Ontario: Amber Bomberry, Denae Wesley, Jessica Caron-Shaganash, Lorraine Giroux, Tamara Takpannie

The Canada Post Aboriginal Education Incentive Awards are open to all Aboriginal Canadians who have resumed studies and completed one full year or more following a minimum of 12 months out of school. Applicants are required to submit an essay outlining the obstacles and challenges they have overcome in pursuit of a higher education.

Each year, a selection panel made up of Canada Post representatives and members from the Aboriginal community selects up to 24 winners across the country and awards them each a $1,000 prize.