Province Honours Transportation Innovation

The winners of the 2016 Minister’s Awards for Transportation Innovation represent diverse parts of Alberta and assorted areas of expertise.

These annual awards recognize the innovative people and organizations in Alberta who plan, design, construct, operate or maintain a roadway, transit service or related initiative. This is the first year that the category of transit/accessible transportation innovations has been included.

“These awards celebrate transportation innovations, large or small, that are paving the way toward a more efficient, sustainable and safer transportation system in our province. I am proud to present these awards to those who use their skills and creativity to constantly elevate Alberta’s transportation industry.”

Brian Mason, Minister of Transportation

Award of Excellence for Design Innovation

Athabasca River Bridge – COWI North America Ltd. and Alberta Transportation

Award of Excellence for Construction Innovation

Next Practices in Project Delivery Drives Success of Nisku Spine Road Project – Leduc County, RPM Consulting Services Inc., GDP Consulting & Construction Inc., Sureway Construction Management Ltd., Wells Construction Ltd., and Urban Systems

Award of Excellence for Environmental Innovation

Reduction of Vehicle Idling – Carmacks Maintenance Services Ltd.

Award of Excellence for Safety Innovation

Moveable Work Zone Barrier Project – ATS Traffic Group, Aecon Transportation West, and Alberta Transportation

Award of Excellence for Operational Innovation

Taxi Hydrant Zones – City of Calgary

Award of Excellence for Transit/Accessible Transportation Innovation

On-It Regional Transit Pilot – Calgary Regional Partnership, Town of Turner Valley, Town of Black Diamond, Town of High River, Town of Okotoks, and Town of Nanton

ON-IT_logoAward winners were selected in early February by an awards evaluation committee consisting of representatives from Alberta Transportation, Consulting Engineers of Alberta, Alberta Roadbuilders and Heavy Construction Association, Alberta Urban Municipalities Association, and the Alberta Association of Municipal Districts & Counties.