Alberta’s new Cabinet Focused on Jobs, Economic Growth and Diversification

Alberta’s new Cabinet Focused on Jobs, Economic Growth and Diversification


24153565634_de29588eb5_kSix new members were sworn in to Alberta’s Cabinet on February 2, better equipping it to implement a robust policy agenda aimed at economic growth and diversification, while continuing to reflect Alberta’s diversity and gender balance.

“Together, our new Cabinet team will deliver on the government’s plans to create jobs, diversify the economy during difficult times and put our province in the best position possible for future growth.”

Rachel Notley, Premier

Highlights of changes

  • Sarah Hoffman becomes Deputy Premier, while continuing to serve as Minister of Health.
  • Five new ministers and one new associate minister have been named. This allows for a more evenly shared workload, with most ministers now responsible for a single portfolio.
  • Alberta’s Cabinet is still smaller than any previous Cabinet in the province over the past decade, and remains the smallest in western Canada.
  • The department of Jobs, Skills, Training and Labour is renamed Labour.
  • The department of Aboriginal Relations is renamed Indigenous Relations, reflecting the preference of Indigenous communities.
  • The Minister of Labour will also be responsible for democratic renewal.
  • Oneil Carlier becomes Deputy House Leader. Deron Bilous also continues to serve as Deputy House Leader.

The Premier also announced the creation of the Alberta Climate Change Office, which will report to Environment and Parks Minister Shannon Phillips. It will assist in the implementation of Alberta’s Climate Leadership Plan, which will support green research and infrastructure, economic diversification and renewable energy.

The new ministers are:

  • Richard Feehan, minister of Indigenous Relations
  • Christina Gray, minister of Labour and Democratic Renewal
  • Stephanie McLean, minister of Service Alberta and Status of Women
  • Ricardo Miranda, minister of Culture and Tourism
  • Marlin Schmidt, minister of Advanced Education
  • Brandy Payne, associate minister of Health

Lori Sigurdson was moved from Advanced Education, and Jobs, Skills, Training & Labour and now takes over as minister of Seniors and Housing.

Alberta Cabinet in order of precedence

Rachel Anne Notley Premier of Alberta

President of Executive Council

Sarah Marjorie Hoffman Deputy Premier

Minister of Health

Brian Mason Minister of Infrastructure

Minister of Transportation

Government House Leader

David Manson Eggen Minister of Education
Deron Michael Bilous Minister of Economic Development and Trade

Deputy Government House Leader

Joseph Anthony Ceci President of Treasury Board and Minister of Finance
Kathleen Teresa Ganley Minister of Justice and Solicitor General
Shannon Phillips Minister of Environment and Parks

Minister Responsible for the Climate Change Office

Oneil John Carlier Minister of Agriculture and Forestry

Deputy Government House Leader

Danielle Marie Larivee Minister of Municipal Affairs
Margaret Ellen McCuaig-Boyd Minister of Energy
Irfan Sabir Minister of Human Services
Lori Dawn Sigurdson Minister of Seniors and Housing
Richard John Feehan Minister of Indigenous Relations
Christina Gray Minister of Labour

Minister Responsible for Democratic Renewal

Stephanie Veronica McLean Minister of Service Alberta

Minister of Status of Women

Ricardo Miranda Minister of Culture and Tourism
Marlin Robert Schmidt Minister of Advanced Education
Brandy Lynn Payne Associate Minister of Health

Climate Change Office and Democratic Renewal

Climate Change Office

The Government of Alberta released its Climate Leadership Plan in November 2015. To facilitate implementation of the plan, the government will establish a Climate Change Office, which will report to Environment and Parks Minister Shannon Phillips.

The Climate Leadership Plan affects many government programs and initiatives. To ensure effective co-ordination of all aspects of implementation, the Climate Change Office will lead a “whole of government” approach as it works with ministries and agencies.

The implementation of the Climate Leadership Plan will reduce Alberta’s greenhouse gas emissions and contribute to long-term diversification of the Alberta economy.

Democratic Renewal

To support the Government of Alberta in responding to forthcoming recommendations of the Select Special Ethics and Accountability Committee, Premier Rachel Notley has appointed Christina Gray as Minister Responsible for Democratic Renewal.

On June 25, 2015, a motion was passed in the Legislative Assembly to create the all-party committee consisting of 17 Members of the Legislative Assembly of Alberta.

The committee was appointed to review the Election Act, the Election Finances and Contributions Disclosure Act, the Conflicts of Interest Act, and the Public Interest Disclosure (Whistleblower Protection) Act. It will report to the Assembly by June 2016.

Minister Gray will have the mandate to review the committee’s recommendations and bring forward options for amending legislation and/or changing government policy.