Municipal Officials in Edmonton for 2016 AUMA Convention

Edmonton – Elected officials from cities, towns and villages across Alberta will be in Edmonton this week for the annual Alberta Urban Municipalities Association (AUMA) Convention and Trade Show. Starting on Wednesday, October 5, more than 1,000 municipal leaders and provincial officials will gather at the Shaw Conference Centre for a three-day Convention to discuss issues that are affecting communities across Alberta.

The convention kicks off on Wednesday and is packed with opportunities for municipalities to acquire tools and resources spanning economic, environmental, and social matters affecting their communities, and to dialogue with provincial decision makers in particular.

A key event is Government Day on October 6 which includes speeches from Premier Rachel Notley and the Minister of Municipal Affairs, Danielle Larivee, as well as three dialogue sessions with other key ministers throughout the day. The federal Minister of Infrastructure and Communities, Amarjeet Sohi, will also provide the federal perspective through his address to delegates. Alberta’s opposition party leaders will speak to delegates on October 7.

The Convention concludes on October 7 with a tribute to Ft. McMurray and the collective efforts of municipalities across the province to provide support to the thousands of residents and businesses who were affected by the devastating wildfire.


About the AUMA

Founded in 1905, the Alberta Urban Municipalities Association represents all of Alberta’s urban municipalities, including cities, towns, villages, summer villages and specialized municipalities, as well as municipally related Associate and Affiliate members. Our goal is to develop a strong partnership between all three levels of government through a shared vision, with long‐term planning that facilitates social and economic growth, a strategic and stable funding matrix for capital projects, vital emergency and social services and implementation and coordination in the delivery of services to ensure the long‐term sustainability of Alberta’s municipalities.