2016 Alberta Healthy Community Awards Recipients

Congratulations to Longview and Okotoks for your awards!

The Alberta Recreation and Parks Association (ARPA) is pleased to announce the recipients of the Communities ChooseWell 2016 Healthy Community Awards. These annual awards celebrate the efforts and achievements of Alberta communities and wellness champions participating in the Communities ChooseWell program to foster healthy eating and active living and create conditions where healthy living is an easier choice.

Congratulations to the 2016 Award Winners!

Overall Healthy Community Champion
Town of Coaldale

Most Significant Community Change
Town of Slave Lake

Community Wellness Leadership Award
Dave Anderson, Councillor, Strathcona County

Developing Healthy Policies Award
Clandonald School
Town of Sexsmith
Town of Ponoka
Town of Okotoks

Creating Supportive Environments Award
Village of Alix
Town of Pincher Creek
City of Lacombe
City of Lethbridge

Providing Health Education Award
Hamlet of Fort McKay, Regional Municipality of Wood Buffalo
Town of Morinville
Town of Strathmore
Lethbridge College
Lethbridge Public Library

Building Community Capacity Award
Village of Longview
Hamlet of Langdon, Rocky View County
Central Edmonton
City of Medicine Hat

The 2016 Healthy Community Awards reception was held at the ARPA Conference and Energize Workshop on October 20th at the Jasper Park Lodge. Three awards were also be presented at the ARPA President’s Awards Banquet on October 22nd. Click here to visit the Communities ChooseWell website.